Marcin Cichy

President of UKE Marcin Cichy elected as BEREC Vice-Chair 2019

Marcin Cichy, President of the Office of Electronic Communications, was elected as BEREC Vice-Chair for the year 2019 at the plenary meeting in Prague.

This is an element of the strategy of the President of UKE envisaging UKE’s enhanced activity at the international level.

BEREC’s priority in 2019 will be the implementation of Directive establishing the European Electronic Communications Code.

In Prague, BEREC Chair 2020 was also elected - Dan Sjoblöm, head of the Swedish regulatory authority PTS, who will act as Vice-Chair in 2019. The remaining Vice-chairs will be: Marcin Cichy – President of UKE, Tanja Muha – Director General of the Slovenian regulatory authority AKOS, Konstantinos Masselos – President of the Greek regulator EETT, and Johannes Gungl – head of the Austrian authority RTR, who acted as BEREC Chair in 2018.

In 2019, the BEREC Chair will be Jeremy Godfrey – head of the Irish regulatory authority ComReg, elected last year.
The functions of BEREC Chair and Vice-Chair are performed by elected representatives of European regulatory authorities on the basis of a voluntary commitment. Such functions do not involve employment by BEREC.
BEREC – the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications – gathers regulatory authorities from EU Member States. Its task is to enhance cooperation and coordination between NRAs and the European Commission in order to contribute to the development of the internal market for electronic communications networks and strive for a uniform implementation of the regulatory framework in all Member States.